fantastical friday

fantastical Friday: March 21, 2014

for once, the fact that it is Friday hasn’t completely slipped my mind.

In a shout out to one of my favorite Supreme Court Justices {yes, I’ve more than one. blame law school}, Garrett Epps takes to The Atlantic to tell people to stop telling Ruth Bader Ginsberg to retire.

Garance Dorẻ has been working on a series on Parisian style and attitude, and this quote from Catherine Deneuve particularly resonated, though not because I am French. “If I’m not interested in the person that’s in front of me, I don’t go out of my way. And because I am a pretty quiet person, I can look totally cold. Too bad, but I’m not going to change now. I’ve never been able to pretend. That’s the way it is.”

Speaking of style, this article from The Telegraph on the women who divide style opinion between men and women is absolutely true, and an excellent example of the modern woman’s dressing for herself or other women instead of men.

My sister and her husband are due to have their first child in June. I think I might just pre-order Dinner: The Playbook for them, in an effort to help two busy working people keep on top of the whole cooking dinner thing.

Due to that first child {a nephew. so excited}, I’ve also been hearing a lot about parenting guides. While I do think my sister and brother-in-law will do just dandy at the whole parenting thing, there has been a huge change in childhood play. Children do not explore as they used to, and while, “one common concern of parents these days is that children grow up too fast…sometimes it seems as if children don’t get the space to grow up at all; they just become adept at mimicking the habits of adulthood. As Hart’s research shows, children used to gradually take on responsibilities, year by year. They crossed the road, went to the store; eventually some of them got small neighborhood jobs. Their pride was wrapped up in competence and independence, which grew as they tried and mastered activities they hadn’t known how to do the previous year. But these days, middle-class children, at least, skip these milestones. They spend a lot of time in the company of adults, so they can talk and think like them, but they never build up the confidence to be truly independent and self-reliant,” writes Hanna Rosin in The Atlantic, in a study of “The Overprotected Kid.”

Finally, The Smithsonian is telling us The 20 Best Small Towns to Visit in 2014.

Some excellent reminders of life lessons from a thirty-year-old, at least for this person turning thirty in August. Also, I’d rather enjoy a 30th party of dear friends & family, Champagne, gowns, and chocolate cake.

Standard

Leave a Reply

