fiction, new from the book

new from the book #9

some days the work brings a smile to my face. Others, I continually remind myself that first drafts are just the jumping off point.

“Sending Arthur on his way, Simmons asked McKnight if there would be an autopsy that night.
‘Of course. We all decided, even and especially you. Simply be at Blood’s Ice House at eight thirty. He and I will bring the body.’
‘Instruments?’
‘Whatever you deem best. We’ll all bring our own.’
‘Are the others bringing liquor? I seem to have lost the taste for it.’
‘Haven’t we all,’ responded McKnight with a wry grin. ‘Some may. I’m not sure Hugh has yet climbed out of the bottle.’ “

Standard

Leave a Reply

